The 10th Edition of the Kwibuka Tournament

The 10th Edition of the Kwibuka Tournament Attracts Three New Teams.

The 10th Edition of the Kwibuka Tournament Attracts Three New Teams. The 10th edition of the annual Kwibuka women’s tournament

The 10th Edition of the Kwibuka Tournament Attracts Three New Teams.

The 10th edition of the annual Kwibuka women’s tournament will feature eight African teams. African Games gold medal winners Zimbabwe, West Africa Cameroon, and Malawi will feature for the 1st time while defending champions Rwanda, Botswana, and Nigeria and 3rd time winners Kenya and Uganda complete the lineup.

The tournament will run from May 30th – June 8th with the games at the Gahanga International Stadium, the facility that has two turf wickets will host all the games of the tournament.

The tournament that started in 2014 with two teams has grown in stature into an international tournament with T20i status.

Here is a brief profile of the teams:


They are the highest-ranked team in the tournament and winners of the Gold Medal from the African Games in Ghana this year. The South Africans came into the tournament with an A side that has some serious names, all their games will not have T20i status but bring star power to the tournament. Rising star Kelis Ndlovu will be the player to watch out for during the tournament plus Loryn Phiri and Captain Chiyedza Dhururu.

Zimbabwe Team: Chiyedza Dhururu, Loryn Phiri,Kelis Ndlovu, Kelly Chigora, Vimbai Mutungwindu, Lindrose Musina, Buhlebenkozi Maposa, Michelle Mavunga, Lorraine Pemhiwa, Beloved Bhiza, Olinder Chare, Runyararo Pasipanondya, Passionate Munorwei, Christina Mutasa


The losing finalists from last year come to Rwanda with some revenge on their minds, ranked 18th in the World the Victoria Pearls are looking ahead bringing a squad with a mix of youth and experience for the tournament. Janet Mbabazi will lead the side for the tournament at the tournament with youngsters such as Malisa Ariokot and Lorna Anyait expected to lead the charge for a fourth title.

Uganda Team: Janet Mbabazi ©, Consy Aweko, Kevin Awino, Stephanie Nampiina, Immaculate Nakisuyi, Rita Musamali, Malisa Ariokot, Lorna Anyait, Patricia Timong, Asumin Akurut, Jimia Muhammad, Immaculate Nandera, Proscovia Alako, Sarah Walaza.


The defending champions will be seeking back-to-back titles in front of a passionate home crowd. The rise of the ladies’ game in Rwanda has had so many highs such as qualifying for the U-19 World Cup and also winning the 9th edition of the Kwibuka. The home side are fresh from winning the Kalahari T20 tournament in Botswana and the return of experienced players such as Gisele Ishimwe to the team is a sign that they mean business.

Rwanda Team: Diane Marie Bimenyimana ©, Alice Ikuzwe, Gisele Ishimwe, Merveille Uwase, Belise Murekatete, Clarrise Umutoniwase, Flora Irakoze, Geovanis Uwase, Josiane Nyirakundineza, Rosette Shimwamana, Henriette Ishimwe, Rosine Irera, Immaculee Muhawenimana, Shakila Niyomuhoza.


The South Africans have become a constant at the annual tournament, ranked 41st in the World, Botswana has everything to gain from the tournament, especially in terms of picking up ranking points. There is a lot of traffic ahead of them but if they can win games they will have gained the most out of the tournament. They were a competitive unit last year and come to Kigali with a new captain Tuelo Shadrack. They have a lot of new names in the squad an indication of looking ahead.

Botswana Team: Laura Mophakedi, Shameelah Mosweu,Tuelo Shadrack © , Goabilwe Matome, Oratile Kgeresi, Pako Mapotsane, Merapelo Phiase, Amantle Mokgotlhe, Onneile Keitsemang, Kesego Inakale, Wendy Moutswi, Amantle Letuba, Aliya Motorwala, Entle Mmese.


One of the rising stars of women’s cricket in Africa, Malawi will make its debut at the annual tournament. The South Africans are making strides in developing the game and their participation in the tournament is a testament to that goal. Malawi is currently unranked in the World Cup therefore they have everything to gain if they can win a couple of games, with the experienced Arjun Menoni in charge of the ladies’ side at the tournament they should make a splash at the tournament.

Malawi Team: Alinafe Alfonso, Febbe Malefula, Ketrina Maliamu Chingaipe, Lucy Malino, Lidia Lucia Dimba, Mercy Kudimba, Nellie Gamaliyele, Praise Maziya, Sophina Chinawa, Sungeni Kananji, Tadala Tereza Mpakwaya, Tricia Chabila, Triphonia Luka, Vanessa Kanyanda Phiri ©


The West Africans will be making their debut in the tournament as they continue to make progress in their game. The ladies from the land of indomitable lions are ranked 54th in the World and will also pick up some good ranking points if they can win some games. The ladies will be playing in Rwanda for the 1st time but their men have visited the land of 1000 hills and should have shared some notes on how to play in Rwanda.

Cameroon Team: Michelle Solanga Ngono, Cynerah Mboe, Madeleine Nseke, Olive Princesse Ranedoumoun, Manuella Mbida, Leslie Tchouabo, Sandra Nono, Elsa Garcia Kana, Brenda Waluma, Marguerite Bessala, Adrienne Ngono, Edwige Guehoada, Catherine Messina, Cathy Sylvaine Mbelel


The bronze medal winners from the African Games in Ghana come to the 10th edition inspired to finally win the tournament. The West Africans have made great strides in the game and the bronze medal is a sign of their progress, Favour Eseigbe takes over the captaincy from the legend Blessing Etim but the core of Lucky Piety and Salome Sunday will be the key players for them. The female yellow greens have grown in stature with each edition and the 10th could be the lucky number for them to win the tournament.

Nigeria Team: Annointed Akhigbe, Favour Eseigbe ©, Abigail Igbobie, Victory igbinedion, Salome Sunday, Esther Sandy, Rachel Samson, Lilian Ude, Shola Adekunle, Peace Usen, Sarah Etim, Christabel Chukwuonye, Piety Lucky, Peculiar Agboya,


The 3rd time winners of the tournament are chasing a fourth title as they continue to build their side for the upcoming qualifiers. The return of last year’s MVP and the Associate Female Player of the year Queentor Abel should boost the team during the tournament. Kenya has been one of the regulars of the tournament and they will be looking at improvement on the 25th ranking in the World.

Kenya Team: Esther Wachira ©, Veronica Abuga, Vanesa Ooko, Charity Muthoni, Lavendah Idambo, Ann Wangui, Jemimah Sila, Flavia Odhiambo, Edith Waithaka, Kelvia Achieno, Mercy Sifuna, Judith Ogolla, Marion Okira, Queentor Abel.

About the Kwibuka:

The Kwibuka Women’s Tournament is an annual event as part of the remembrance of the 1994 genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda. During the tournament the visiting teams are taken through the history of the genocide so that they can relate with the peace and recovery message of the tournament of NEVER AGAIN.

About Rwanda Cricket Association:

Rwanda Cricket is an associate ICC member and the body responsible for the growth and development of the game in Rwanda


Kwibuka History

Uganda, Rwanda
Uganda, Rwanda, Kenya
Uganda, Rwanda
Uganda, Rwanda, Kenya
Uganda, Rwanda, Kenya
Mali, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda
Botswana, Namibia, Kenya, Nigeria, Rwanda
Germany, Botswana, Kenya, Uganda, Brazil, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania
Kenya, Botswana, Uganda, Nigeria, Rwanda
Nigeria, Zimbabwe, Rwanda, Malawi, Cameroon, Uganda, Kenya, Botswana